Foundation for Economic Development


Jaithirth Rao

Jaithirth “Jerry” Rao is the former CEO of MphasiS, and was awarded the Ernst & Young Entrepreneur of the Year Award twice in 2001 & 2004, and the Karnataka State Rajyothsava Award in 2005. Before this, he spent over two decades, with Citi and its parent Citicorp in various capacities including as Head of Citibank […]


Naushad Forbes

Naushad Forbes is the Co-Chairman of Forbes Marshall, India’s leading Process and Energy Efficiency company. He is on the board of several public companies and educational institutions. Naushad has long been an active member of CII and was president of CII from 2016 to 2017. He has written widely on innovation in developing countries and […]

Gurcharan Das

Gurcharan Das

Gurcharan Das is an author, management guru and thought leader. He was CEO, Procter & Gamble India and later Managing Director, Procter & Gamble Worldwide (Strategic Planning).  He has authored many critically acclaimed books, including a trilogy based on the classical Indian ideal of life’s goals: India Unbound, The Difficulty of Being Good, and Kama: […]


Arvind Panagariya

Arvind Panagariya is former Vice Chair, Niti Aayog and Jagdish Bhagwati Professor of Indian Political Economy at Columbia University. He is a past Chief Economist of the Asian Development Bank and Professor of Economics at the University of Maryland at College Park. He has also worked with the World Bank, IMF and UNCTAD in various […]

Ashish Dhawan

Ashish Dhawan

Ashish Dhawan is the Founder-CEO of The Convergence Foundation (TCF), an organisation that incubates other non-profits focussed on addressing India’s developmental challenges. He is also the Chairperson of Ashoka University, a leading liberal arts university in India, and Central Square Foundation, a non-profit foundation working towards improving the quality of education for all children in […]